Log in

Welcome VPPA Members!


All VPPA scholarships must be used at PPA accredited or Board approved courses. ONLY Professional, Professional PPA, Professional Non Resident, Professional Non Resident PPA and Life Members of VPPA are eligible.

The Executive Treasurer is responsible for paying tuition directly to the school for the course or reimbursement if the award recipient submits a paid invoice to the Treasurer.

 In all cases the recipient has EIGHTEEN MONTHS from the date of the announcement to use the award, but must inform the scholarship committee of the intended course within 6 months.  (2020 Recipients were given a temporary extension due to COVID, please contact the Executive Secretary or Executive Treasurer if you need more information)


 THREE Memorial Scholarships are given each year.  The fund was begun in 1988 with funds generated from contributions in memory of W.E.A. “Billy” Moore, a past President of the VPPA and one for Polly Frye who was a member of the Association for over 60-Years. It was quickly broadened to include other VPPA members.   

1.  Each year application forms are distributed to members who have been members 3 or more years. The completed applications are then submitted to a committee for consideration and selection. The Executive Treasurer is the chairman and chooses two members in good standing (usually Past Presidents) to serve on the committee. The recipient is announced at the Annual Awards Banquet in February each year.  

2.  The second scholarship is drawn at the Annual Awards Banquet from a pool of all members who have three or less years tenure and have registered and attended the annual convention. 

3.  The last scholarship honors Miss Polly Frye and is drawn from a pool of all members who contributed to the Polly Frye Fund (Raffle) and is awarded on the last day of Convention.  You don't have to be present to receive the Polly Frye Scholarship. 

4.  Currently $1,000 has been approved as the annual award for each scholarship. 


Founded and funded by friends of Bruce, especially those who benefited from his guidance and counsel, this grant honors a Past President of VPPA, Bruce Hobbs. Since he was encouraged by mentors when he was starting out in photography, Bruce’s philosophy was always to help others in their pursuit of their career. The scholarship pays homage to this ideal and the recipient is encouraged to give back by assisting others. Various fund raising efforts and contributions are the source of funding. This scholarship can be used in any way the recipient chooses to further the growth of their business.  If the recipient chooses to use the scholarship for VPPA dues, the award represents 2 years dues. The name of the winner is drawn at the end of the Convention and the current grant is $500.   Members can receive this scholarship one time only.


Raffle Tickets are sold each year as part of PhotoConnect-VA (Convention) and the funds are used to fund the Polly Frye Memorial Scholarship and part to the winner of the drawing.


Raffle Tickets are sold each year as part of PhotoConnect-VA (Convention) to members who are both VPPA and PPA members and have passed the Certified Professional Photographer Test.  The proceeds funds are divided between the winner of the drawing and the CPP treasury.

VPPA Members with 3 or More Years tenure are eligible to submit a Scholarship Application Below:

Click Here!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software